function mfTempOpenSection(id){var block=document.getElementById("mf-section-"+id);block.className+=" open-block";block.previousSibling.className+=" open-block";}

Yardena Alotin (Hebrew: ירדנה אלוטין; born April 19, 1930 in Tel Aviv, died October 4, 1994 in New York City) was an Israeli composer and pianist.


Yardena Alotin studied from 1948 to 1950 at the Music Teachers' College in Tel Aviv and then from 1950 to 1952 at the Israel Music Academy. Among her teachers were Alexander Uriah Boskovich (theory), Mordecai Seter (harmony, counterpoint), Paul Ben-Haim (orchestrator), Ilona Vincze-Kraus (piano) and Ödön Pártos (composition). She married Yohanan Riverant.[1]

Her first work was Yefei Nof for mixed choir, which won the Nissimov Prize and was premiered by the Rinat Choir in Tel Aviv and at the Paris International Festival in 1956. She produced both didactic and commissioned work, and rewrote Yefei Nof for solo flute (1978) for James Galway.[2] In 1984 she received a commission from the Tel Aviv Foundation of Literature and the Arts to mark Tel Aviv's seventy-fifth anniversary.[3] In 1975 and 1976, Alotin was the composer-in-residence at Bar-Ilan University.[4] In 1998 Alotin's husband donated a fund in her name for the support of Israeli music performance.[2]


Selected works composed by Yardena Alotin include:

  • Passacaglia (1964)
  • Six Piano Pieces for Children (1982)
  • Suite (1974)
  • Suite (1992)
  • Three Preludes for Piano (1978)
  • Trio for Piano, Violin, Cello (1983)[5]


  1. ^ Sadie, Julie Anne; Samuel, Rhian (1994). The Norton/Grove dictionary of women composers (Digitized online by GoogleBooks). ISBN 9780393034875. Retrieved 4 October 2010. 
  2. ^ a b "Yardena Alotin Fund". Retrieved 12 September 2010. 
  3. ^ Abramson, Glenda (2005). Encyclopedia of modern Jewish culture, Volume 1 (Digitized online by Google Books). ISBN 9780203494356. Retrieved 12 September 2010. 
  4. ^ Boenke, Heidi M. (1988). Flute music by women composers: an annotated catalog (Digitized online by Google Books). ISBN 9780313260193. Retrieved 12 September 2010. 
  5. ^ Dees, Pamela Youngdahl (2004). Piano Music by Women Composers. Greenwood Publishing Group. p. 4. ISBN 0-313-31990-1.