Shimon Adaf (Hebrew: שמעון אדף‎‎, born 1972) is an Israeli poet and author born in Sderot.[1]

Shimon Adaf's first book of poetry, Icarus' Monologue, won a prize from the Israeli Ministry of Education. In 1996–2000, Adaf studied at Tel Aviv University, simultaneously writing articles on literature, film and rock music for Israeli newspapers. In 2000–2005, he worked as a prose editor for Keter Publishing House.

In 2013, he won Israel's prestigious Sapir Prize for his novel "Mox Nox."[2]



  • Icarus' Monologue, 1997 (poems)
  • What Which I Thought Shadow Is the Real Body, 2002 (poems)


  • One Mile and Two Days Before Sunset, 2004
  • A Mere Mortal (or: The Buried Heart), 2007
  • Panim Tzruvei Hama (Sunburnt Faces), 2008



  1. ^ Naama Gershy (2 July 2008). "Netivot, the heart of everything". Haaretz. Archived from the original on 21 November 2008. Retrieved 27 January 2014. 
  2. ^ "Israel's top literary award, Sapir Prize, goes to Shimon Adaf". Haaretz. 17 February 2013. Retrieved 19 February 2013.