Sarah Feigin (1 July 1928 - 24 April 2011) was a Latvian music educator and composer who lived and worked in Israel.[1]

She was born in Latvia, and studied piano and composition at the Riga Conservatory of Music, graduating with bachelor's and master's degrees. She moved to Israel in 1972 and founded a Conservatory of Music in Holon in 1973, working as its director until 1983. Feigin worked for "Jeunesses Musicales d'Israel" from 1973 to 1990, organizing concerts for youth. Her music has been performed internationally.[2][3]


Feigin composes mainly for piano and organ, but also opera, ballet, orchestra and chamber ensemble works. She has published arrangements of Israeli songs and progressive pedagogical studies. Selected works include:

  • Autumn Song, for alto-saxophone & piano
  • Awakening, for 2 clarinets and Piano
  • Beauty of Songs, for voice & piano
  • Caravan, for flute, clarinet & piano
  • Elegie in Memoriam Yitzhak Rabin, for piano trio
  • Fantasia for Clarinet & Piano
  • Fantasia for Clarinet and String Quartet
  • String Quartet, Solo instrument + ensemble
  • Fantasia for Flute & Harp
  • Fantasia For Two Clarinets & Piano
  • Festive Songs For Piano, Book III, solo piano
  • Four Hits, arr. for piano 4-hands, solo piano
  • Four Scenes, for piano
  • Humoresque and Habanera, for violin and piano
  • In The Name Of..., for voice & piano
  • Kaleidoscope, for orchestra
  • Kyle-Yana, for alto-saxophone & piano
  • Listen, symphonic poem, for solo voice & symphony orchestra
  • Lugubre, for cello & piano
  • Nigunim, for clarinet & piano
  • Playing Together, Songs for Piano 4 hand[4]


  1. ^ "Sarah Feigin". furore-verlag. Retrieved 9 June 2015. 
  2. ^ Dees, Pamela Youngdahl (2004). A Guide to Piano Music by Women Composers: Women born after 1900. 
  3. ^ Sadie, Julie Anne; Samuel, Rhian (1994). The Norton/Grove dictionary of women composers (Digitized online by GoogleBooks). Retrieved 8 December 2010. 
  4. ^ "Sarah Feigin". Retrieved 8 December 2010.