For the American poet, see Noah Eli Gordon.
Noah Gordon introducing his new book "The Winemaker" in Barcelona.

Noah Gordon (born November 11, 1926) is an American novelist. He was born in Worcester, Massachusetts.

Some of the topics covered within his novels include medical history and medical ethics. More recently he has begun to focus more on themes relating to the Inquisition, and Jewish cultural history.

His novel Shaman won the first James Fenimore Cooper Prize for Best Historical Fiction in 1993.


  • The Rabbi (1965)
  • The Death Committee (1969)
  • The Jerusalem Diamond (1979)
  • The Physician (1986) (Cole family trilogy)
  • Shaman (1992) (Cole family trilogy)
  • Matters of Choice (1995) (Cole family trilogy)
  • The Last Jew (2000)
  • Sam and Other Animal Stories (2002) (children's stories)
  • The Winemaker (2007)

External links