Jamie Davis (born James Lee Davis III; September 3, 1983) is an American country/soul/Southern rock musician. He is best known as lead singer, guitarist, and principal songwriter of Jamie Davis & Soul Gravy, the band notable for its 2006 single "Mississippi Moonshine".[1]

Personal life

He was born as James Lee Davis III in Tupelo, Mississippi, and grew up in Booneville. He is the eldest of six children born to Angela Cook Hughes and James "Jim" Davis, Jr. He attended Northeast Community College and Mississippi State University, where he graduated with a Bachelor's degree in Business.[2] Davis is a Republican, although he supported then-Congressman Travis Childers (D-MS) in 2008. He was married in November 2013, and has a child.

Jamie Davis & Soul Gravy

Davis and Dan Isbell, former member of Christian rock group Wavorly, founded Jamie Davis & Soul Gravy while attending Mississippi State University. The rotating band lineup solidified in 2005 with the addition of highly acclaimed Starkville-area musicians John Staggers (drums), Mitch Shurden (bass), and Jerry Carnathan (lead guitar). The band's current members are:[3]

  • Jamie Davis, lead vocals, guitar[4]
  • Jerry Carnathan, vocals, lead guitar
  • Lee Graham, bass
  • Dustin Nunley, vocals, acoustic guitar, banjo
  • John Staggers, drums

Former members:

  • Dustin Childers, current manager/booking agent, lead guitar until 2005
  • Dan Isbell, vocals, guitar until 2014
  • Josh Mallard, drums until 2005
  • Mitch Shurden, bass 2005-2009
  • Jason Herndon, bass until 2005


  • 2006 - Mississippi Moonshine[4]
  • 2010 - The Blue Album[5]
  • 2015 - Jamie Davis & Soul Gravy (informally, The Green Album) produced by Mac McAnally


  1. ^ "Jamie Davis & Soul Gravy". Primesourceentertainment.com. Retrieved 2014-07-11. 
  2. ^ "The Band". Jamie Davis & Soul Gravy - The Band. The Official Website of Jamie Davis & Soul Gravy. Retrieved June 23, 2011. 
  3. ^ "Scene Now". Scene Now. NEMS360.com. Retrieved June 23, 2011. 
  4. ^ a b Nalley, Steven. "Jamie Davis and Soul Gravy Return to Starkville". Jamie Davis and Soul Gravy Return to Starkville. Starkville Daily News. Retrieved June 23, 2011. 
  5. ^ "The Blue Album by Jamie Davis & Soul Gravy". The Blue Album. iTunes. Retrieved 23 June 2011.