function mfTempOpenSection(id){var block=document.getElementById("mf-section-"+id);block.className+=" open-block";block.previousSibling.className+=" open-block";}

Irvin Faust (June 11, 1924 - July 24, 2012) was an American author and educator. He was born in Brooklyn, New York to Morris and Pauline Faust and grew up in Queens, New York and attended the Queens College of the City of New York (now known as the Queens College of the City University of New York) and the City College of New York (now known as the City College of the City University of New York), where he earned a B.S. degree in 1949. Faust attended Columbia University for graduate studies, earning an M.A. in 1952 and an Ed.D in 1960. From 1943 to 1946, Faust served with the U.S. Army during and after World War II. He served with the Army in Europe and the South Pacific. Faust married Jean Satterthwaite in 1959.[1]


Faust was born to a Jewish family in Brooklyn, New York, the son of Morris and Pauline (née Henschel) Faust.[2] Faust has also maintained a career in education. He has served as a teacher and guidance counselor at junior high and high schools. Faust had also taught at such notable colleges as Swarthmore College, Columbia University, and the University of Rochester. For many years he was the Director of Guidance at Garden City High School (New York), Garden City, NY.


Faust is best known for his novels and collections of short stories. In 1965, Eliot Fremont-Smith in The New York Times cited "Roar Lion, Roar" on a list of 14 books that constituted "new fiction read, reviewed and enjoyed during the year." His first novel, The Steagle, was made into a film in 1971. In all Faust wrote seven novels, two books of short stories and a number of uncollected short stories for various publications. His ill health reduced his writing in his later years, but he published a short story in 2008.[3]


Faust died from pneumonia following a series of strokes.[4]

Selected bibliography

  • Entering Angel’s World non-fiction (1963)
  • Roar Lion, Roar and Other Stories short stories (1965)
  • The Steagle novel (1966)
  • The File on Stanley Patton Buchta novel (1970)
  • Willy Remembers novel (1971)
  • Foreign Devils novel (1973)
  • A Star in the Family novel (1975)
  • Newsreel novel (1980)
  • The Year of the Hot Jock and Other Stories short stories (1985)
  • Jim Dandy novel (1994)


  1. ^ "Irvin Faust Biography - Irvin Faust comments:". Retrieved 30 July 2012. 
  2. ^ Taub, Michael; Shatzky, Joel (1997). Contemporary Jewish-American Novelists: A Bio-critical Sourcebook. Greenwood. pp. 87–91. ISBN 978-0313294624. 
  3. ^ "The Neglected Books Page". Retrieved 30 July 2012. 
  4. ^ Martin, Douglas (30 July 2012). "Irvin Faust, Author and Guidance Counselor, Dies at 88". The New York Times. Retrieved 30 July 2012.