Hedva Harekhavi.JPG

Hedva Harekhavi, Israeli poet and artist, was born in 1941 in Kibbutz Degania Bet,[1] one of the oldest kibbutzim in Israel. She had one child, Elisha, who died at a young age. She has lived most of her life in Jerusalem.[2]

Harekhavi is a graduate of the Bezalel Academy of Art in Jerusalem. Her art works have been exhibited in one-person shows in Israel and in many group shows in Israel and abroad.

Her first poems published in the Hebrew daily Al-Hamishmar (1967) were submitted for publication by the eminent Hebrew poet Leah Goldberg (1917-1970). Goldberg later selected and prepared for publication Harekhavi's first book of Hebrew poetry, Ki Hu Melech (Because He Is A King), 1974, which received the Rachel Newman Poetry Prize. Her poems have been translated into many languages including English, Arabic, Russian and German[3] and have appeared in numerous publications and anthologies.

Her major collection of poetry, A Bird that is Inside Stands Outside: Poems, 1962-2008 was published in 2009 by the Kibbutz Ha Meuchad[4] and the Bialik Institute in Jerusalem - two of Israel's major publishers of Hebrew poetry. Her most recent book, Rana, was published in 2014 by the Kibbutz Ha Meuchad Publisher.[5]

She is known for writing poems that are heavy in repetition, which implies that the reader is not listening, further exacerbating her emotions. [6]She is considered to be a part of the feminist movement of poetry, taking the linguistics of ancient Hebrew texts and using them as inspiration for her poetry.[7]

She mainly paints in watercolor.

Harekhavi has won several prizes in poetry, among them the Prime Minister Prize for Poetry in 1982 and again in 1993; and the prestigious Yehuda Amichai Prize for Poetry in 2010. She is considered to be one of the great Israeli female poets.


  • The Rachel Newman Prize for Ki Hu Melech (Because He Is A King, 1974)
  • The Levi Eshkol Prime Minister's Prize for Hebrew Writers, 1982 and 1992.
  • The Yehuda Amihai Prize, 2010.
  • The Ramat Gan Prize, 2011.
  • The Akum Prize for Poetry, 2013
  • The Bialik Prize for Hebrew Literature, 2014

Published Works[8]

  • Because He Is A King- Poetry (1974)
  • Adi- Poetry (1981)
  • I Just Want To Tell You- Poetry (1985)
  • The Other-Poetry (1993)
  • A Bird That is Inside Stands Outside- Poetry (2009)
  • Rana-Poetry (2014)


  1. ^ Burnshaw, Stanley, et al. (eds.) The Modern Hebrew poem itself, p.260-61 (2002) (ISBN 978-0814324851)
  2. ^ Hess, Tamar (1999). Hebrew Feminist Poems from Antiquity to the Present: A Bilingual Anthology. Feminist Press at CUNY. p. 246. 
  3. ^ "Jerusalem Artists House". art.org.il. Retrieved 8 March 2016. 
  4. ^ Hakibbutz HaMeuchad
  5. ^ Hakibbutz HaMeuchad
  6. ^ Burnshaw, Stanley (2003). The Modern Hebrew Poem Itself. Wayne State University Press. pp. 261,262. 
  7. ^ Hess, Tamar. Hebrew Feminist Poems from Antiquity to the Present: A Bilingual Anthology. 
  8. ^ "חדוה הרכבי". library.osu.edu. Retrieved 2016-03-08. 

External links