Anne R. Kaiser (born February 10, 1968) is an American politician from the state of Maryland who serves a Majority Leader in the Maryland House of Delegates, where she represents the 14th district, which includes parts of Silver Spring, Calverton, Colesville, Cloverly, Fairland, Burtonsville, Spencerville, Olney, Brookeville, Ashton, Sandy Spring, Brinklow, Laytonsville, Sunshine, Goshen, and Damascus in Montgomery County.


Kaiser was born in Washington, DC on February 10, 1968 and grew up in Rockville, Maryland. She graduated from Rockville High School and then attended the University of Chicago, graduating with a B.A. in Political Science in 1990. She received two master's degrees from the University of Michigan in 1995, a Masters in Public Policy and a Masters in Educational Studies.

Career and community involvement

Between college and graduate school, Kaiser worked for Congressman Neal Smith (D-Iowa) as well as for Maryland Delegate Hank Heller. During that time, Kaiser became active in Montgomery County Democratic politics, was a member of the Giant Food Consumer Advisory Board, and coached youth basketball.

After completing graduate school, Kaiser worked as an Economist at the IRS from December 1995 until April 2002. During that time she was a member of the Wheaton Urban District Advisory Committee, the Rockville Branch of the American Association of University Women (serving as Membership VP and Secretary), and continued coaching youth basketball. She served in leadership positions as Chair of the Mid-County Citizens' Advisory Board and Co-Coordinator of the Montgomery County Women's Fair. In 1998, she was elected to a 4-year term on the Montgomery County Democratic Central Committee.

She currently works part-time at Bethesda Transportation Solutions, part of the Bethesda Urban Partnership. Additionally, Kaiser is an adjunct professor at the University of Maryland, College Park teaching a course on Women in Politics. She is a lifetime member of Tikvat Israel (formerly Beth Tikva) Congregation in Rockville.

House of Delegates

Kaiser was first elected to the Maryland House of Delegates in 2002, and was reelected in 2006, 2010 and 2014. Kaiser was appointed by Speaker Michael Busch in 2015 as the Majority Leader in the House of Delegates. Additionally, she is a member of the Ways and Means Committee, serving as the chair of the Education Subcommittee. She also serves on three Joint Committees, including the Legislative Policy Committee, the Spending Affordability Committee and the Joint Committee on Legislative Information Technology and Open Government.

She previously served as vice-chair of the 98 member House Democratic Caucus. Her previous service also includes time as the elected chair of the 24 member Montgomery County House Delegation, the largest in the state of Maryland.

During the 2004 legislative session, Kaiser testified on behalf of H.B. 1284: Medical Decision-Making Act and in her testimony announced that she is a lesbian. In making this announcement, she joined openly gay Maryland legislators Delegate Maggie L. McIntosh and then-Delegate (now Senator) Rich Madaleno. The LGBT caucus in the Maryland General Assembly increased to four in 2006 with the election of Del. Heather Mizeur and to seven in 2010 when Dels. Luke Clippinger, Mary L. Washington and Bonnie Cullison were all elected. In 2011, Del. Peter Murphy came out, taking the LGBT caucus to eight.

While a member of the House of Delegates, Kaiser maintains her activism in community organizations. She has served as the House of Delegates liaison for Committee for Montgomery. Kaiser was also selected by Speaker Michael Busch to be in the inaugural class of the Howard P. Rawlings Leadership Fellowship Program. Previously, she was active with the Girls in Information Technology Taskforce, the Carl M. Freeman Foundation and is a graduate of Leadership Montgomery. In 2004, she was elected as a Kerry delegate to the Democratic National Convention.


On February 23, 2013, Kaiser became engaged to her long-time partner, Nancy C. Lineman. On November 2, 2013, they got married. The couple lives in the Calverton neighborhood of Silver Spring with their 3 cats and 1 dog.


Kaiser has been recognized with several awards:

  • Out for Equality award from Equality Maryland
  • Nominated for the Young Woman of Achievement Award from the Women’s Information Network
  • Two certificates of appreciation from the MD Municipal League
  • One of MD's Top 100 Women in 2006 by The Daily Record
  • Legislator of the Year (2007), by the MD Nurses Association
  • Advocacy in Action Award from the MD Association of Youth Services Bureaus (2008)
  • Legislator of the Year, MC Region of the MD Association of Student Councils (2011)
  • Legislator of the Year, MD School Counselors Association (2015)

Election results

  • 2010 Race for Maryland House of Delegates – 14th District[1]
Name Votes Percent Outcome
Anne Kaiser, Democratic 23,503   21.5%    Won
Craig Zucker, Democratic 22,148   20.2%    Won
Eric Luedtke, Democratic 21,165   19.3%    Won
Patricia Fenati, Republican 14,866   13.6    Lost
Henry Kahwaty, Republican 14,152   12.9%    Lost
Maria Peña-Faustino, Republican 13,639   12.5%    Lost
  • 2006 Race for Maryland House of Delegates – 14th District[2]
Voters to choose three:
Name Votes Percent Outcome
Anne Kaiser, Democratic 24,500   21.8%    Won
Karen S. Montgomery, Democratic 24,478   21.8%    Won
Herman L. Taylor, Jr., Democratic 24,273   21.6%    Won
John McKinnis, Republican 13,471   12.0%    Lost
John Austin, Republican 12,963   11.5%    Lost
Jim Goldberg, Republican 12,603   11.2%    Lost
other write-ins 61   0.1%    Lost

Legislative notes

  • voted for the Healthy Air Act in 2006 (SB154)[1]
  • voted against slots in 2005 (HB1361)[2]
  • voted in favor of increasing the sales tax whilst simultaneously reducing income tax rates for some income brackets - Tax Reform Act of 2007(HB2)[3]
  • voted in favor of in-state tuition for illegal immigrants in 2007


  1. ^ "GEMS ELECTION RESULTS". Montgomery County Board of Elections. Archived from the original on 2 April 2011. Retrieved 12 March 2011. 
  2. ^ "House of Delegates Results". Maryland State Board of Elections.  Retrieved on July. 21, 2007

External links