Amalia Kahana-Carmon (Hebrew: עמליה כהנא-כרמון) (born 1926) is an Israeli author and literary critic. She was awarded the Israel Prize for literature in 2000.[1]


Amalia Kahana was born on Kibbutz Ein Harod. Her father, Haim Kahana, was one of the founders of the kibbutz. She moved to Tel Aviv, where she studied at Herzliya Hebrew Gymnasium. During the 1948 Palestine war she served in the Negev Brigade of Palmach as a signals operator and wrote the famous telegram for the capture of Eilat. She received a master's degree in literature from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in 1964.

Literary themes

Carmon writes about the lives of traditional women in a male-dominated environment. Despite their romantic defeats, her heroines emerge as queens who recognize what they have lost but continue to have hope. While challenging the happily-ever-after paradigm, she still believes in the dignifying aspects of the ability to love.[2]


Published works

  • Under One Roof (1966)
  • And Moon in the Valley of Ayalon (1971)
  • A Piece for the Stage, in the Grand Manner (1975)
  • Magnetic Fields (1977)
  • High Stakes (1980)
  • Up in Montifer (1984)
  • With Her on Her Way Home (1991)
  • Here We'll Live (1996)